## ST. MARY'S COUNTY GOVERNMENT

## COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY



James R. Guy, President Michael R. Alderson, Jr., Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

HB 574- St. Mary's County - Alcoholic Beverages Licenses - Multiple Licensing Plans

## **SUPPORT**

February 4, 2025

The Honorable C.T. Wilson, Chairman Economic Matters Committee 230 Taylor House Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

RE: HB 574 - St. Mary's County - Alcoholic Beverages Licenses - Multiple Licensing Plans

Dear Chairman Wilson:

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County <u>SUPPORT</u> House Bill 574 - St. Mary's County - Alcoholic Beverages Licenses - Multiple Licensing Plans which is being heard in the Economic Matters Committee.

St. Mary's County does not currently have legislation authorizing its Alcohol Beverage Board to issue more than one Class B beer, wine and liquor license to any given individual. This has limited individual operators and entrepreneurs from expanding in St. Mary's County. We believe the enactment of the proposed legislation will provide greater opportunity for economic success for these individuals and improve our business climate in the hospitality and service industries.

We request a favorable report on House Bill 574. We support the introduction of this legislation and believe it would benefit the citizens of St. Mary's County. Thank you for your consideration as well as your attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

James Randy Guy, President

CSMC/AB/tr T:/Consent/2025/015

Cc: Senator Jack Bailey

Delegate Matthew Morgan Delegate Brian Crosby

Commissioner Mike Alderson, Jr.

P.O. BOX 653 • CHESAPEAKE BUILDING • 41770 BALDRIDGE ST., LEONARDTOWN, MD 20650 PHONE 301.475.4200 \*1350 • FAX 301.475.4935 • www.stmaryscountymd.gov • CSMC@STMARYSCOUNTYMD.GOV

Cc: Commissioner Eric Colvin
Commissioner Michael Hewitt
Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow
David Weiskopf, County Administrator
David Yingling, Deputy County Administrator
Buffy Giddens, County Attorney
John Sterling Houser, Deputy County Attorney